Lent 2017

Lent is the solemn religious observance in the liturgical calendar that begins on Ash Wednesday and covers a period of approximately six weeks before Easter Sunday. The traditional purpose of Lent is the preparation of the believer through prayer, penance, repentance of sins, almsgiving, atonement and self-denial.

Its institutional purpose is heightened in the annual commemoration of Holy Week, marking the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus, climaxing on Jesus' crucifixion on Good Friday, which ultimately culminates in the joyful celebration on Easter Sunday of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

During Lent, many people stop eating certain foods (often meat or eggs), drinking alcohol, or they give up certain habits or comforts as a form of penitence. Some see this as a way to emulate Jesus' 40 days spent in the wilderness, where he fasted and endured the temptations of Satan. Other people add a Lenten spiritual discipline to draw themselves closer to God - using this time period to reflect on the life of Jesus; specifically his suffering, sacrifice, death, burial and resurrection.

Lent originated in the very earliest days of Christianity as a preparatory time for Easter, when the faithful rededicated themselves.

 

In 2017 Saint Thomas's will mark the Lenten season with the following services and events:

 Sunday, March 5 - the First Sunday of Lent

 Wednesday, March 8 - Society of Mary - Rosary Recitation - 7:30 to 8:00 pm

 Friday, March 10 - Confessions in Lent - 6:00 to 6:30 pm

 Sunday, March 12 - the Second Sunday of Lent

 Wednesday, March 15 - Society of Mary Monthly Devotion - 6:00 pm

 Friday, March 17 - Confessions in Lent - 6:00 to 6:30 pm

 Saturday, March 18 - Prayer Book Society Lenten Quiet Day - 10:30 am to 1:30 pm

 Sunday, March 19 - the Third Sunday of Lent

 Wednesday, March 22 - Society of Mary - Rosary Recitation - 7:30 to 8:00 pm

 Friday, March 24 - Confessions in Lent - 6:00 to 6:30 pm

 Sunday, March 26 - the Fourth Sunday of Lent

 Wednesday, March 29 - Society of Mary - Rosary Recitation - 7:30 to 8:00 pm

 Friday, March 31 - Confessions in Lent - 6:00 -6:30 pm

 Sunday, April 2 - Passion Sunday

 Wednesday, April 5 - Society of Mary - Rosary Recitation - 7:30 to 8:00 pm

 Friday, April 7 - Confessions in Lent - 6:00 - 6:30 pm